Welcome to The Town Book Store
The Town Book Store has been serving Westfield and neighboring communities since 1934. We are one of the last independent bookstores located in Union County, New Jersey. In today’s rapidly changing retail environment, The Town Book Store remains one constant where shoppers can find a first-rate literary selection with friendly, personalized service in an attractive, convenient setting. Whether you are reading for escape, for comfort, to gain knowledge, for pure pleasure or as a source of lively conversation, visit or call us at The Town Book Store and we can match you up with the right book.

Anne Laird
Owner, The Town Book Store


THE TOWN BOOK STORE
~ Satisfying Book Lovers Since 1934 ~
Anne's Pick of the Month

                       The Night Tiger
                       by Yangsze Choo
                       $17.99

                             An utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial
                             Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min
                             Jin Lee.

Quick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother’s Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin may finally get the adventure she has been longing for.

Eleven-year-old houseboy Ren is also on a mission, racing to fulfill his former master’s dying wish: that Ren find the man’s finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master’s soul will wander the earth forever.

As the days tick relentlessly by, a series of unexplained deaths racks the district, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren’s increasingly dangerous paths crisscross through lush plantations, hospital storage rooms, and ghostly dreamscapes.

Yangsze Choo's The Night Tiger pulls us into a world of servants and masters, age-old superstition and modern idealism, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. But anchoring this dazzling, propulsive novel is the intimate coming-of-age of a child and a young woman, each searching for their place in a society that would rather they stay invisible.
Home    |     Staff Picks    |     Author Events   |    About Us     |     Contact Us




                                        Fred Rossi
                                       March 21, 2020
                                       2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
                                       {POSTPONED}




Click here to read more about this event.}



                                      Alida Durham Clemans
                                      May 2, 2020
                                      2:00 - 4:00 PM








{Click here to read more about this event.}




Voted Best Independent Book Store in NJ!
COVID-19 Update (March 30, 2020)

I just want to assure all of you that we will be continuing our curbside pickup (see details below for how it works) for as long as we are allowed to do it. It has been extremely successful so far and involves no face-to-face contact.

To make inquiries as to what we have in stock or to place orders, you can call us at 908-233-3535 between the hours of 11:00-3:00 to talk to a staff member personally. Please be patient, in an effort to maintain the safety of our staff, there generally is only one person in the store at a time. You can, of course, leave a message at any time or email me at anne@townbookstore.com with any of your requests and I will get back to you as soon as possible. Our deliveries have been arriving within a day or two with no shipping charges to our customers. Many people have been using us a destination for their daily walk!


We started curbside pick-up on March 15 and it seemed to work quite well with many satisfied customers!  

This is how curbside pick up will work:
  • Call us at 908-233-3535 or email me at anne@townbookstore.com to see if the book you want is in stock. We will also be happy to make recommendations over the phone or via e-mail.
  • If the book you want is not in stock, we will order it for you. It will arrive at TBS within a couple of days with no shipping charges.
  • When your books arrive, we will call you. At that time we will take your credit card information over the phone and arrange for when you want to come and pick up the book at our side entrance. There will be no face-to-face contact.